The 100 Years

Landing in Napoli

 

I made it! Landed in Napoli on Sunday 12 maggio 2013. One Hundred Years to the day my grandfather Michele Sassone landed at the Port of Boston.

There is so very much to share with you and I’ve wanted to write a couple of times but wifi has been so sporatic and time has been so very short. I do try every day to jot notes in a journal so that I don’t forget a thing, and can expand in the future.

There has been quite the buzz here in Melfi about my 100 Years story and it’s made it to the Radio. They asked me to come in for an interview on Tuesday the 14th. They brought in an interpreter for me which was good because it would have been difficult without one.

Here are a couple of photos just to share a tiny snippet of my adventure so far.
047The view from my front door in the morning
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFound in Old Melfi; my grandmother’s Nephew and Niece; Michele and Maria Montanarella. Still living in the original home, on a stone paved strada that barely accommodates even a small car.

So much to tell! The days are packed with meeting family and eating! Start very early and end very late. It has been so much more than I had expected. The 100 Years which started as a salute to my grandfather has meant so much more to so many here.

This entry was posted in Me in a Sea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The 100 Years

  1. clinock says:

    YAY you – a dream come true – we can all learn from your adventure – enjoy, enjoy….

  2. Lunch Sketch says:

    So happy to read this! 🙂
    Continue to enjoy!

  3. my heart gushes with happiness and excitement for you!!!

  4. Angela says:

    This is such a great story! I’m DYING to go to Italy to see where my family was from. I’ve been in sporadic contact with one distant relative, but definitely didn’t get the welcome reception you did! A radio interview? How neat!

    • It was “Epic”! More posts about the visit to come. I hope you’ll follow along. Where in Italy is your family from? Maybe something I’ve done could help you find more? Stay in touch.

Leave a Reply

