The Countdown Begins

It’s official. I’m going to Italy!

My passport came in record time – two weeks. Imagine that. It was sent in on Jan 23rd, approved Jan 30th and I received it on Feb 8th. Everyone told me 4-6 weeks. I followed dear Janet’s advise and watched its progress online, it said 4-6 weeks. Then by chance I checked on Friday the 8th and it said I should look for it in my mailbox on the 12th. When I got home, it was there!

Thursday morning I purchased my tickets. My heart was pounding with excitement and nerves. I’ve never been in this situation before. Never have traveled outside the US, say nothing about going to Europe. As the woman handed me all of my paperwork and reviewed it with me I started to cry. I’m a jerk, I know. I don’t know where the emotions came from, I was happy and thrilled but seeing it all on paper made the dream official. Mixed with the nerves of getting everything right, landing in Naples on the 12th of May, worrying about layover times and getting to each boarding gate on time, staring at my receipts, my eyes started to tear up and I got a lump in my throat. All of this waiting, wondering, thinking and working as many hours as possible finally paid off. I have the tickets and I’m off to Italy in May.

Next weeks paycheck is going straight to Bruce Springsteen tickets! My host will be my guest to the concert in Naples on the 23rd. Every time I’ve been to a Springsteen concert it’s been at a large indoor venue. This concert will be here:

Piazza del Plebiscito

 

I can’t imagine how amazing that’s going to be! Me, at a Springsteen concert, in Naples Italy. It’s too much.

Still working on the playlist, the list of research documents to take, the old photo’s to copy, what to pack, what to take and what not to take. List’s, I have so many!

This entry was posted in Me in a Sea and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Countdown Begins

  1. Don. Olney says:

    Go Jacque!

  2. Lunch Sketch says:

    Awesome! Enjoy!
    Looks like an incredible venue to see The Boss!

Leave a Reply

