100 Years

Of course my last post was about my trip to Italia in June 2013….well the very next morning while driving to work I suddenly realized one important fact that had not yet occured to me. My grandfather arrived in America through the Port of Boston in May 1913.  It gave me a chill and a sense of confirmation that this is the way it should be. Originally my plan to go in June was because of the weather. It’s warmer in Melfi, Italy that time of year and I tend to get cold easily. I just thought that warmer weather would make me more comfortable and I could pack lighter. Now things are slightly different. What is more important to me than anything is arriving in Naples on the day my grandfather arrived in Boston ~ 100 years later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 Years

  1. Kzinti says:

    This is such a cool thing to do. I certainly hope all things click into place so you can go and not have to worry about a thing. What an awesome historical journey to take his route in reverse, the family returning home.

    • Thanks Kzinti! When it hit me about the dates ~ 100 years apart ~ I kind of felt like my nonno was speaking from above saying ” Hey kid, wake up!” And I really did feel the chill go up my spine when the connection hit me. He died before I was born but in a way I feel he is pretty involved in this part of my life.

Leave a Reply

