Elephants & Kings

Of course the buzz about The Kings Speech flew over my head until weeks after the movie had closed and the Oscar nominations had been chirped. Actually I caught on while watching Inside the Actors Studio when the guest was Colin Firth. So, I had to wait until it came out on DVD. Sure I was going to love it I bought it. I’ve seen it twice now and my only regret is not having seen it in the theatre. I have a large Plasma TV but it’s just not the same. Anyway, I highly reccommend this movie.

Based on a true account ( always my favorites ) it is a fairly slow moving film, but never the less it is beautifully made and well told.

Water For Elephants; Good story and though I don’t think it’s based on actual events, I do believe that most of this probably did happen in the 30’s. It’s promoted as a “love story” and all of those Edward/Twilight fans are eating it up. I for one am not into Twilight at all. I don’t do vampires period.

Parts were well played, history seemed to be accurate, scenery was what it should have been……blah, blah, blah. Where it lost all of my votes and turned me off completely was the portrayal of the animal abuse.

Disturbing. Not only did it break my heart but it shook me up to the point of not being able to sleep well for 2 nights. Those images take a while to leave me. I know, I know it’s a movie but just the thought of someone hurting an animal, beating it, feeding rotten bug infested food. Really? So is it a love story or an accounting of what happened to Circus Animals in the 30’s?  It makes me angry and sad. It wasn’t worth the money and I will not ever watch it again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

