Learning the signs

I aced my ASL quiz last night. Got 30 out of 30 right! To say I was pumped is an understatement, I never do well on tests. Though, this is a beginners class and it was only our 3rd week, still with everything I have going on and the fact that I worked 7 days straight I still managed to get some study time in. It would be really nice if I had a study partner or someone I knew was a signer. I need to use what I've learned everyday to make it more comfortable and get it in my brain. I really wanted my sister to take this class w/me so that we could study/practice together. She said she'd take it next time around, so I'll be in the Intermediate and she'll be in the Beginners, that'll be helpful I suppose. Anyway, I am so glad I did this and am looking forward to the day that I can interpret for our Dr.'s at work. Boss Dr talks so fast, if I can keep up with him it'll be a miracle. I want to be that good.
Sue and her cousin pulled into town yesterday around 1 o'clock. She called me from Columbus OH Monday night saying they were going to push hard to get to Erie PA that night. They did. I took little dog to work with me and then home to Sue's after work. I was only mildly sad to see her go. She's a snippy little thing but has a cute side. She sort of came unglued a bit when she walked back into her own house as there were dogs everywhere! Sue's cousin came complete with 3 dogs! So now Sue has 8 dogs running around her house. Better her than me. Been there – done that and don't want to do it again. I came home yesterday afternoon to a quiet home with one fantastic Golden Retriever who was – as usual – very happy to greet me.
Baby kittens are all thriving and growing. I found a cage in the hospital basement yesterday that is perfect for them now that they're moving and playing more. Damn, they are cute! They try to play with each other and fall over, then just play with the air. It's fun to watch them. This is the best stage, fat little bellies and all purring. So innocent and sweet. I pray they all have good lives for years and years. I have to remember to take my camera again today.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning the signs

  1. Hi Jacquie – I've been terrible at keeping up on Vox lately so I've missed a lot. I have no idea what ASL is (I'll peruse through your blog to see if you've talked about this elsewhere – do you mean American Sign Language perhaps?) – HUGE congrats on the test! Well done. 🙂

  2. Oh duh… nevermind. You must mean sign language… heh, if i'd bothered to pay attention to the blog title. sorry! /smacks forehead. 😛

Leave a Reply

